Best International Album: Oblivion – The Path Towards…



Our Irish awards for 2017 are now in the bag. We now move onto our favourite international releases. In which there were many, but some albums will leave an impression and some will not. This album I keep returning to and always enjoy! 

Oblivion are a super group in many regards. They feature members of Antagony, All Shall Perish, Hacksaw to the Throat, and Feast. With guests such as Karl Sanders from Nile also involved. 

The main reason I have returned to this album so many times is the variety. No death metal band sounds like Oblivion and it’s always an interesting listen. The guests and revolving line up throughout obviously play a big part, but it is very nice to have such an original and varied release coming in today’s world. Many bands try, but this band succeed on every level with this release. 

This was among our highest rated albums this year and for good reason! So many dynamics, debt and a satisfying overall listen every time. 

A timeless classic I’ll return to time and time again! 


Bandcamp link where the album can be purchased. 

On the eleven-track The Path Towards…OBLIVION — featuring within its ranks vocalist/bassist Nick Vasallo (ex-Antagony), guitarists Ben Orum (All Shall Perish, ex-Antagony) and Ted O’Neill (ex-Alchemicon), and drummer Luis Martinez (ex-Antagony, ex-The Zenith Passage) — has manifested a record that’s darker, heavier, and even more eclectic than their critically-adored debut, Call To Rise. Composed by Vasallo early this spring, the recording boasts an all-star lineup of guest artists that includes Karl Sanders (Nile, guest songwriter), Eddie Hermida (Suicide Silence/All Shall Perish, guest vocals), Enrico H. Di Lorenzo (Hideous Divinity, guest vocals), and Carlos Saldana (Connoisseur, guest vocals). The album also marks Orum’s and Vasallo’s first time collaborating on music since Antagony’s debut in 2001. With precise and intricate guitar solo work by O’Neill and legendary performances by Martinez, OBLIVION forges ahead stronger than ever with The Path Towards…

Eddie Hermida (Suicide Silence & All Shall Perish) provides guest vocals on ‘Concrete Thrones’, ‘Zenith’ and ‘Under A Dead Sun’. 

Enrico Di Lorenzo (Hideous Divinity) provides guest vocals on ‘Awaiting Autochton’ and Co wrote by Karl Sanders (Nile). 

Carlos Saldana (Antagony) also provides guest vocals on ‘Zenith’. 


DIGITAL ORDER NOW AVAILABLE: https://uniqueleaderrecords.bandcamp….

Bundles are currently available at THIS LOCATION.






Share Button

Filed under: Burning Metal Ireland

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!