OBLIVION: Metal All-Stars Project Release Their Second Album ‘The Path Towards…’ Via Unique Leader On November 17th



Focused on crafting music to transcend time and genres, OBLIVION features a compelling lineup with internationally-acclaimed composer and Antagony founder Dr. Nick Vasallo on vocals and bass, All Shall Perish and Antagony founder Ben Orum on guitar, thrash metal veteran guitarist Ted O’Neill, and drum virtuoso Luis Martinez (formerly of The Zenith Passage), trained by renowned jazz funk musician Ndugu Chancler. Their songs are masterfully composed by Vasallo using material from all the band members. Each album is highly unified conceptually and musically. Their debut album, Called To Rise was crowned, “the must-own album of 2013,” by Metal Injection and a “progressive metal masterpiece,” by Sputnik Music, who furthered, “the band’s eleven song display of nothing more than pure aggression with more musical depth than many bands can find in their entire discography.”

The highly-anticipated follow-up to that critically-acclaimed masterpiece arises in the form of The Path Towards… Darker, heavier, and even more eclectic, The Path Towards… was composed by Vasallo early this spring and boasts an all-star lineup of guest artists that include Karl Sanders (Nile, guest songwriter), Eddie Hermida (Suicide Silence/All Shall Perish, guest vocals), Enrico H. Di Lorenzo (Hideous Divinity, guest vocals), and Carlos Saldana (Connoisseur, guest vocals). This album also marks the return of Ben Orum and Nick Vasallo collaborating on music since Antagony’s debut album in 2001. With precise and intricate guitar solo work by O’Neill and legendary performances by Martinez, OBLIVION forges ahead stronger than ever with The Path Towards…

We were sent the album and it’s certainly the most varied Death metal release I’ve heard in quite some time. The nucleus of the album is technical death metal, but with so many guests on this album the dynamics of each song are different. ‘Awaiting Autochton’ for example was co written by Karl Sanders of ‘Nile’ so that particular track has a real Nile feel as a result. 

The album kicks off with a short intro of the same name, and then things really kick off with ‘Dominion’ it’s a real tour de force start to finish. An excellent track! 

Mechanistic Hollow’, ‘Concrete Thrones’ and ‘Awaiting Autochton’ all follow. As all tracks were previously released, we shall include them here for you to check out! I think you’ll agree with me that they are all brilliant songs. 

‘Holders Of The Sword’ follows and another excellent track. ‘Harsh Awakenings’ may be my favourite track on the album. An excellent death metal track that just hooks you in start to finish. 

‘It has Become’ has a real Black metal feel throughout and yet again, another excellent track.  The guitar work on this song is incredible! 

Eddie Hermida (Suicide Silence & All Shall Perish) guests on the albums final two tracks ‘Zenith and ‘Under a Dead Sun’ and both are incredibly different from the other tracks. Carlos Saldana (Antagony) also provides guest vocals on ‘Zenith’ so the dynamic and overall vibe on that track is very different as a result. 

The album concludes with a short outro also of the same name and there is much to digest and analyse. 

In conclusion, while a very varied album in many regards. It hits the spot on every level in my opinion anyway! I would personally call this one of the best death metal releases of 2017. Every track held my interest throughout and there’s no weaker track on this album. 

In regards to Death metal this is a very refreshing album and has many layers. I love Death metal, but some albums can start to just flow into each other without notice. Not this album though! That’s why it’s easily in my list of best Death Metal albums of 2017!





Eddie Hermida (Suicide Silence & All Shall Perish) provides guest vocals on ‘Concrete Thrones’, ‘Zenith’ and ‘Under A Dead Sun’. 

Enrico Di Lorenzo (Hideous Divinity) provides guest vocals on ‘Awaiting Autochton’ and Co wrote by Karl Sanders (Nile). 

Carlos Saldana (Antagony) also provides guest vocals on ‘Zenith’. 


DIGITAL PRE ORDER NOW AVAILABLE: https://uniqueleaderrecords.bandcamp….

Preorder bundles are currently available at THIS LOCATION.



PRE-ORDER NOW AVAILABLE: https://www.indiemerchstore.com/b/oblivion

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OBLlVlON



Share Button

Filed under: Burning Metal Ireland

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!