The Burning Metal Awards Nobody Gives A Fuck About 2016 – One To Watch – Axial Symmetry



This may seem a strange award, but then again nobody gives a fuck about them. So it doesn’t really matter.. 

This was one I actually gave a lot of thought to. My love for Axial Symmetry‘s style of death/thrash/black/industrial metal fusion clinched it in the end. 

In the assumption someone actually reads this, they may think “Hey! Didn’t you organise their EP launch tour..” 

Yes, but there’s a story behind how that all came together, but nobody gives a fuck about that either.. So all I’ll say about that is it just all fell together. Never planned, just happened. It was also the first time I had met any of the lads also. So fate or some shite like that… 

I was familiar with their earlier works and I always saw a lot of potential. They had such bad luck in regards to a steady line up, so the question always remained would it ever happen for them?

Thankfully they now have a steady line and all on the same page and it’s already evident you’ve got a serious fucking proposition on your hands now with this band.

Their live show is excellent and they look like a band. If that makes any sense… They kick it off and fucking annihilate the place for their duration onstage. One of the best live acts in this country hands fucking down! 

Looking towards 2017. They now have their EP “United Corruption” out in physical format and ready to kick on in a big way. They have belief and ready to take on the world. I for one can see it’s all there now. If they get the breaks? The sky really is the limit for this band. 

I’ve added a few links here both studio recordings and a live performance. Check them all out as they are excellent. 

Watch out 2017. Axial Symmetry are coming and they are going to kick you square in the bollocks!! 


A – 21 




United Corruption (Live in On The Rox, December 3rd 2016) EP Launch Tour.



Axial Symmetry are: 

Gavin Doyle – Vox/Guitars/Keys.
Matt O’Brien – Guitars.
Diego Rodrigues – Drums.
Dave O’Reilly – Bass.

Follow them on Facebook:…


Share Button

Axial Symmetry – United Corruption Review


Axial Symmetry – United Corruption Review




Dublin based Death Metal titans Axial Symmetry‘s new EP “United Corruption” is upon us! It has been a while coming, but it was worth the wait. 

As part of the team involved in the EP launch tour I was slightly worried about this review. It was going to be a very awkward few days if this release didn’t stand up…

I was right to trust my instincts as this is one of the better releases I’ve heard this year. It’s Death Metal, but has so many layers, dynamics and hooks throughout and keeps you interested start to finish!

The EP kicks off with with a spoken word intro “Freedom Machine” that although more electronic than metal, really sets the tone for this EP. It’s full on political with a lot of harsh truths about the state of humanity and has a very dark feel throughout. 

Previously released “A-21” is up next and one of the better songs on this EP. It’s very political in lyrical delivery as the song is based on “Article 21”. Read it if you haven’t… There’s some amazing lead guitar work throughout, great use of electronic music and great dynamics. You know this song is going to sound amazing live as it has so many tempo changes and a real depth to it! 

End Of Privacy” is the third track on this EP and one I didn’t really like so much upon first listen, but it’s a real grower! There’s so much going on with this track it needs to a couple of listens to fully absorb. Again, full of great lead guitar work and amazing use of electronic music in regards to tone and atmosphere. 

Track number four “D.F.E.” is probably my favourite track on this EP. It’s a lot slower in regards to tempo than the rest of the EP and it really works. There’s a great breakdown around the 1:30 mark, and if it doesn’t get your head banging? You just aren’t a metal fan! It speeds up after that and really picks up the pace. It moves back down the gears again effortlessly and grabs you by the bollocks and will not let go. If this track is anything to go by, then this bands forthcoming releases will be absolutely incredible! 

We now reach the EP’s penultimate track “Modified Genocide” which like “End Of Privacy” requires a couple of listens to fully absorb. There’s some excellent lead guitars and solos in here and it chug’s along nicely throughout. A very good track but after “D.F.E.” and the EP’s final track “United Corruption” after, it does fall ever so slightly short. Saying that, I’m very much looking forward to seeing how this track works live. It’s not a bad song by any stretch of the imagination but again does fall short in regards to the other tracks…. 

United Corruption” closes this fantastic EP, and man it’s a fucking great way to conclude this release. It’s heavy, fast and full of great dynamics. You can also feel the raw energy throughout this track and more excellent use of electronic music. It winds down with some amazing lead guitar work and when it’s all over. You just want to go back and listen to it all again… 

In conclusion, it’s pretty obvious I really enjoyed this EP. Five out of Six tracks are excellent and the other is good. I’ll probably change my mind and share the same opinion on every track after catching them all live next month. But for now, this release is a real statement of intent from this band. Considering they now have a stable line up and ready to take things up a notch. I wouldn’t need to be Septic Peg to predict their future works are going to reach another level of quality. The future is very bright for this band! 


Check out “A-21” here! 




Axial Symmetry are: 

Gavin Doyle – Guitar/Vocals/Keys/Moon Walk

Matt O’Brien – Guitar

Dave O’Reilly – Bass

Diego Rodrigues – Drums 


Follow them on Facebook for more information:

The band have also pre-released another new track “D.F.E” to stream via SoundCloud: 


Recorded/Mixed/Mastered By: Gavin Doyle @ Symmetry – Industry Studios. Dublin, IRE. 2015 – 2016.

Drums Recorded @ Troubadour Rehearsal Studios, Dublin, IRE.

Artwork & Layout By: Gavin Doyle

Band Photography: Peter Clarke

Produced By: Gavin Doyle.

Co-Produced By: Matt O’Brien


Catch them live on their EP launch tour in Galway, Cork and Dublin


Share Button

Axial Symmetry Release New Single A-21

Axial Symmetry Release New Single A-21



Dublin based Death Metal monsters Axial Symmetry have released their new single “A-21” and it’s fucking excellent! Long time fans of the band will be slightly surprised upon first listen, but once you’ve gotten past the changes you realise this is a new beast and without doubt their best work to date. I’m really looking forward to their next six track EP  “United Corruption”! 

This band are really on the right track and now have a full stable line up. Watch them take over!! 

Check out “A-21” here and download via the link below! 

Axial Symmetry are: 
Gavin Doyle – Vox/Guitars/Keys.
Matt O’ Brien – Guitars.
Diego Rodrigues – Drums.
Dave O’Reilly – Bass.

Download “A-21” here for free or pay what you want:

Follow them on Facebook:

Share Button

Wacken Metal Battle Ireland Feature

Wacken Metal Battle Ireland 


The Wacken Metal Battle Ireland finalists have being chosen! The final takes place in On The Rox, Dublin on Saturday June 25th.
One from these six bands shall go and play the biggest metal festival in the world! 
I’ve been to Wacken five times myself and can only say good things about it! Best of luck to all the bands competing, this really is the big one!
Here are the six bands. No words, just music! 


Axial Symmetry 


Raum Kingdom 




The Devil Wants Her Swagger Back 




Remember to Follow Wacken Metal Battle Ireland on Facebook for updates! 

Wacken Metal Battle Ireland

Share Button